Studio filmowe OKNA
Warsaw Jewish Film Festival since 2003 - the first one in East Europe
      In 2003 Daniel Strehlau established, as a director & organizer, by his own idea the annual Jewish Film Festival in East Europe - first ever in this part of the world. In 2004 Mr. Irvin Kershner became a Jury Chairman of his festival. Daniel Strehlau became friend with Kersh till his death, since Mr. Kershner joined in 2001 public screenings of his documentaries at UCLA, LA, Ca.
       In 2006 Daniel Strehlau, as a head of selection committee selected a short film WEST BANK STORY, which was granted 1st CAMERA OF DAVID Award of his Festival and three months later won OSCAR® in the same category. In 2007 he selected for the competition of his Festival Israeli BEAUFORT and KATYN, three months later both films received OSCAR® nominations in foreign language film category. In 2006 his Festival showed the short documentary BROOKLYN: AMONG THE RUINS edited by BENH ZEITLIN, the 2013 Oscar nomination winner and director of BEASTS OF SOUTHERN WILD. In 2011 his Festival showed and awarded the feature documentary INTERRUPTED STREAMS directed by GUY DAVIDI, the 2013 Oscar nomination winner and director of FIVE BROKEN CAMERAS. During his Festival he established many Jewish - Palestinian peace dialog meetings and educational programs for both sides. The Festival was organized through 10 years with limited budget and without seriouse financial support by culture institutions of the country, where was organized. The country supported seriously other festivals. In 2010 Daniel Strehlau organized Israeli Film Fest KOLNOA with Palestinian Film Day ALSEENIMA in East Europe - first ever.  In 2005 he visited Universal City to hand the Honorary Camera of David Award for Mr. Steven Spielberg in his office, who was represented by Mr. Marvin Levy, PR. In 2010 Daniel Strehlau visited Universal City again to hand the David Camera Award for Mr. Quentin Tarantino`s INGLORIOUSE BASTARDS in his office. In 2010 he handed The Honorary Award to Mr. Paul Mazursky in Beverly Hills, Ca. 
IDA: 2013 Camera of David Award & 2015 Oscar
2016 Oscar & 2008 Camera of David for LASZLO NEMES (2016: "Son of Saul" & 2008: "With a little patience")

Promotional video about Warsaw Jewish FF - 6min
WJFF commercial clips 2017 - 2003 - 5 min


Irvin Kershner                 Paul Mazursky, Beverly H.        Agnes Varda 
& Daniel Strehlau                                           & Daniel Strehlau, Paris
     The 1st edition took place in November 2003. The Festival welcomed Irvin Kershner (The Empire Strikes Back) – chairman of the Jury ’04, Laios Koltai, Amos Gitai (awarded Cannes Palme d’Or ’05), Slava and Lina Chaplin (Charlie Chaplin’s family members), John Daly (Hollywood film producer) – chairman of the Jury ’05; Daniela Weber (Berlinale); Agnes Varda; Grace Guggenheim – chairwoman of the Jury ’06; Janusz Kaminski and other guests. The Honorary Prizes David Camera in the years 2003-2014 went to Steven Spielberg, Woody Allen, Roman Polanski, Andrzej Wajda, late Gustaw Holoubek, Barbra Streisand, Paul Mazursky, Agnieszka Holland, Coen Brothers, Tadeusz Konwicki, Claude Lanzmann, Mike Nichols, Martin Landau, Tad Taube.
      The Festival is organized by The Camera of David Foundation, which President and Festival Director is Magdalena Makarczuk - Strehlau.

You are most welcome!
Festival Director



© Hollywood 2013 by Daniel Strehlau